Upcoming Concerts

We are excited to reopen this Fall for our 2021-2022 season! In the meantime, we are uplifted by and grateful for these words from our beloved Alex Guzmán regarding the current crisis:

Dear Friends,

I am saddened and, in a sense, angry about this Odyssey upon which we are all embarked. While it will not take 10 years as it did Odysseus, I know it is hard waiting through the uncertainty of the timeline in which this scourge has seemingly engulfed us.

One thing is definite, we will continue to exist.

Practice and stay safe out there. Hopefully Ithaca (the ancient Greek one) is not that far away.


The Centre Symphony Orchestra (CSO), founded in 1960 and celebrating over 60 years of service to New Yorkers, is one of the City’s oldest and most esteemed community-based orchestras. The Centre Symphony Orchestra is open to music amateurs and music students, as well as semi-professional and professional players, who rehearse weekly on Wednesday nights from October through May, and prepare and present three concerts per year.

Concert, Thursday, December 16, 2021

Portrait of TchaikovskyWe are excited to welcome you to our first concert after reopening, at 7:30 pm on Thursday, December 16 at our new venue, Broadway Presbyterian Church!

Led by Music Director Scott Wiley, the concert will open with soloist Ming Feng-Hsin accompanying the orchestra for Vaughan William's The Lark Ascending. We will then continue with Beethoven's stirring First Symphony.

After intermission, we will resume with Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35 (Tchaikovsky's only violin concerto), again accompanied by Ming Feng-Hsin.

We are so excited to reunite with our orchestra and community! This concert, and the rest of our season, will be dedicated to the memory of our beloved Alex Guzmán.

Concert, Thursday, March 17th, 2022

Conductor Scott Jackson Wiley will lead the CSO's second concert of the season at 7:30 pm on Thursday, March 17th at Broadway Presbyterian Church.

The concert will feature Mozart's Sinfonia Concertante in E-Flat Major, K. 364 with returning soloist Christine Kwak on violin, and Byung-Kook Kwak on viola, as were the wishes of our beloved Alex Guzmán, to whom this season is dedicated. We will conclude with the first symphony composed and published by a female American composer: Amy Beach's acclaimed Gaelic Symphony.